Clayton Brown comes up big at US meet
Clayton Brown shines

Clayton Brown was the only Jamaican winner over the weekend as the SEC Indoor Championships came to an end in College Station, Texas, USA.

Former Jamaica College star Brown, representing Florida, won the men’s triple jump with 16.50m.

Carey McLeod, formerly of Kingston College, picked up silver for the University of Tennessee with his 16.49m effort. McLeod, 8.19m, won the long jump on day 1.

Damion Thomas, who won gold for Jamaica at the U20 World Championships in 2018, finished third in the men’s 60m hurdles. Robert Dunning of Alabama won in 7.65 ahead of Thomas’ LSU teammate Eric Edwards, 7.66.

Former Manchester High and The Queens School student, Daszay Freeman, representing Arkansas, ran 8.15 for fourth in the women’s 60m hurdles.

Tonea Marshall of LSU won the event in new meet record 7.89. She beat Grace Stark of Florida 7.91 and Kendra Harrison’s meet record of 7.92.

Jamal Walton of the Cayman Islands crossed the line in 45.62 to take second behind his Texas A&M’s teammate Bryce Deadmon, 45.51 in the men’s 400m.

Tamara Clark of Alabama, 7.27 won the women’s 60m ahead of Semira Killebrew of Florida, 7.30 and Thelma Davies of LSU, 7.30.

Raymond Ekevwo of Florida was the men’s 60m winner in 6.57. Lance Lang of Kentucky finished second in 6.66.

Abby Steiner of Kentucky won the women’s 200m in 22.57 ahead of Tamara Clark, 22.69 and Symone Mason of LSU, 22.76
Thelma Davies ended fourth in 23.01.

Terrance Laird of LSU topped the men’s 200m in 20.52 ahead of Matthew Boling of Georgia, 20.71.

Alexis Holmes of Kentucky was the women’s 400m winner in 52.08. She beat Stephanie Davis of South Carolina, 52.15 and Amber Anning of LSU, 52.25

Amber Tanner of Georgia won the women’s 800m in 2:04.35 ahead of Katy-Ann McDonald of LSU, 2:05.19.

Devin Dixon of Texas A&M ran 1:49.63 to beat Florida’s Justin Pacifico, 1:50.18 to take the men’s 800m title.

Katie Izzo of Arkansas set a new record 15:48.34 to win the women’s 5,000m ahead of Mercy Chelangat of Alabama, 15:53.97. The beat the meet record of 15:53.34 set back in 1990 by Valerie McGovern.

Arkansas women won the title with 102 points, ahead of LSU 87.5, Georgia 78, Alabama 67 and Kentucky 63.

On the men’s side, Arkansas came out on top with 106 ahead to LSU 88, Texas A&M 82, Florida 75 and Tennessee 67.

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected]. Also, please remember to follow us on social media – subscribe to our social media pages –
youtubeTrackalertstv facebookTrackalerts instagramTrackalerts TwitterTrackalerts



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here