Christopher Taylor named in Jamaica's team for IAAF World U20 Championships
Christopher Taylor named in Jamaica's team for IAAF World U20 Championships

Christopher Taylor, Ackera Nugent, Ashanti Moore and Tina Clayton will headline Jamaica’s teams for the North America, Central America and Caribbean (NACAC) U18 and U23 Championships.

The JAAA announced the teams by saying, “the following is the list of track and field athletes, Management Team selected to represent Jamaica in the NACAC Under 18 & Under 23 Championships Scheduled for July 9 – 11, 2021 in San Jose, Costa Rica.”

Christopher Taylor, who finished second at Jamaica Olympic Trials, has also been selected in the Tokyo 2020 team to run the men’s 400m. He qualified base on World Athletics’ quota world raking system for athletes who did not run the automatic qualifying times.

Charokee Young will also make it to Tokyo as part of Jamaica’s 4x400m mixed relay team. One lap hurdlers Shiann Salmon and Leonardo Ledgister are reserves for their events in Tokyo.

MALE U18: Alicke Cranston, Bouwahjhie Nkrumie, Orlando Wint, Tahj Hamm, Delano Kennedy, Kemario Bygrave, Adrian Nethersole, Andre Harris, Shamer Blake, Roshawn Clarke, Oshane Blackwood, Aaron McKenzie , Brandon Pottinger, Jaydon Hibbert, Javar Thomas, Zachry Campbell, Kobe Lawrence and Ricardo Hayles.

FEMALE U18: Tina Clayton, Serena Cole, Alana Reid, Dejanea Oakley, Oneika Brissett, Rickiesha Simms, Kishay Rowe, Alexis James, Kerrica Hill, Alliah Baker, Lavanya Williams, Rasheda Samuels, Deijanae Bruce, Shemonique Hazle, Britannia Johnson, Britannie Johnson and Cedricka Williams.

Super showdown: Fraser-Pryce, Miller-Uibo, Thomas clash in 200m at Herculis Diamond League

MALE U23: Davonte Burnett, Sandrey Davison, Antonio Watson, Jevaughn Powell, Javeir Brown, Christopher Taylor, Chevonne Hall, Tyrese Reid, Kevroy Venson, Orlando Bennett, Shakwon Coke, Courtney Lawrence, Kai Chang, Roje Stona and Leonardo Ledgister.

FEMALE U23: Ashantie Moore, Gizelle Scarlett, Dazay Freeman, Ackera Nugent, Shian Salmon, Lamara Distin and Charokee Young.

Keith Wellington – Manager
George Stone – Asst. Manager
Cherine Richards – Asst. Manager

Michael Vassel-Head Coach
Camille Ennis
Grace Bourah
Ruel James
Roderick Myles
Lamar Richards
Marvin James
Cannigia Raynor
Joycelyn Gibson

Yvonne Foster
Johnoya Bond

Dr. Jermaine Lewis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here