Khalifa International Stadium host the Doha 2019 World Athletics Championships - Oregon22
DOHA, QATAR - SEPTEMBER 27: Tajay Gayle of Jamaica competes in the Men's Long Jump qualification during day one of 17th IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 at Khalifa International Stadium on September 27, 2019 in Doha, Qatar. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Tajay Gayle, Jamaica’s two individual gold medallists from the Doha 2019 World Athletics Championships, headline the nominees for Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year.

Fraser-Pryce ran 10.71 seconds to win the women’s 100m, her fourth world title at the distance while Gayle stunned the world to take the men’s long jump crown.

Eight of the nine women nominated for the RJRGleaner Sports Foundation Sportswoman and Sportsman Awards are track and field athletes. Also, three of the five men are from track and field.

(1) Alia Atkinson – FINA Swimming World Cup championship record
(2) Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce – World 100m champion
(3) Rushell Clayton – World Championships 400m hurdles bronze medallist
(4) Natoya Goule – Pan America Games 800m champion
(5) Shericka JacksonWorld Championships 400m bronze medallist
(6) Shanieka Ricketts – World Championships triple jump silver medallist
(7) Danniel Thomas-Dodd – World Championships shot put silver medallist
(8) Elaine Thompson – Pan America Games 100m champion
(9) Danielle WilliamsWorld Championships 100m hurdles bronze medallist

(1) Tajay Gayle – World Championships long jump gold medallist.
(2) Fedrick Dacres – World Championships discus silver medallist.
(3) Christopher Binnie – Caribbean squash champion.
(4) Yona Knight-Wisdom – Pan American Games diving silver medallist.
(5) Travis Smikle – Pan American Games discus silver medallist.

(1) Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce: Lightening Speed – Amazing gold medal run in the IAAF World Champions in a world leading 10.71 winning 100m
(2) Tajay Gayle: Earth shattering – Gold medal performance at IAAF World Championships with the longest jump in the world for 10 years
(3) Natoya Goule: Unrelenting – Determined win over 800m at the Pan American Games
(4) Shamar Nicholson: Priceless – Long distance strike in a game-winning friendly international against the United States
(5) Havana Solaun: Historic – Scored Jamaica’s first-ever goal at the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The awards ceremony will be on January 17, 2020.

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected] or WhatsApp your results, photos and videos to 876-893-4157


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here