Ronald Levy
Ronald Levy

Ronald Levy has withdrawn from Jamaica’s team to this weekend’s (10-12 Aug) North American, Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Championships in Toronto, Canada.

Sprint hurdler Levy, according to JAAA’s secretary Garth Gayle, “withdrew due to injury.” Gayle said this was communicated to the JAAA by Levy’s management team.

Elaine Thompson, who called time on her 2018 season last month, is also out. Jonielle Smith will now run the 100m.

Jodean Williams has also been added to contest the women’s 200m, replacing CAC Games champion Sashalee Forbes, who is nursing a slight injury.

Cameron Walker-Shepherd(pole vault) is also out of the team that was originally submitted to Athletics Canada while Traves Smikle, who won bronze at last week’s CAC Games, is added.

Lloydiricia Cameron (shot put), Shadae Lawrence (discus) and Kateema Riettie (javelin) are also out of the Toronto trip.

The NACAC Championships will be held on August 10-12 at Toronto’s Varsity Stadium.

Full Jamaica team:

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (100m), Jonielle Smith (100m, 4x100m), Jura Levy (4x100m), Natasha Morrison (4x100m), Shericka Jackson (200m), Jodean Williams (200m), Stephanie-Ann McPherson (400m), Christine Day (400), Anastasia Le-Roy (400m reserve), Tiffany James (4x400m), Derrin Hill (4x400m), Natoya Goule (800m), Simoya Campbell (800m), Danielle Williams (100mH), Yanique Thompson (100mH), Janieve Russell (400mH), Leah Nugent (400mH), Tisanna Hickling (long jump), Shanieka Ricketts (triple jump).

Tyquendo Tracey (100m, 4x100m), Kenroy Anderson (100m, 4x100m), Nesta Carter (100m reserve, 4x100m), Javoy Tucker (4x100m), Jahnoy Thompson (200m, 4x100m), Nigel Ellis (200m, 4x100m), Demish Gaye (400m, 4x400m), Fitzroy Dunkley (400m, 4x400m), Rusheen McDonald (400m reserve, 4x400m), Steven Gayle (4x400m), Ivan Henry (4x400m), Kemoy Campbell (5000m), Hansle Parchment (110mH), Annsert Whyte (400mH), Shawn Rowe (400mH), Clayton Brown (high jump), Ramone Bailey (long jump), Tajay Gayle (long jump), Jordan Scott (triple jump), O’dayne Richards (shot put), Ashinia Miller (shot put), Fedrick Dacres (discus), Traves Smikle (discus), Caniggia Raynor (hammer).

Michael Frater, the 2005 World Championships 100m silver medalist, is the team manager. He will be assisted by Osaka 2007 World Champs 4x100m silver medal winner Marvin Anderson and Merlene Hamilton.

Donald Quarrie, Montreal 1976 Olympic 200m champion, is the technical leader while Maurice Wilson is the head coach.

Julian Robinson, Reynaldo Walcott, Lennox Graham and Paul Francis are the other coaches.

The management team is completed by Dr. Carl Burce (team doctor), Nathaneal Davis, Alvin Green, Gavin James and Damion Rowe (masseurs).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here