KINGSTON, Jamaica – Defending champions Naggo Head were crowned champions of the INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships for the third straight year after capturing the 37th edition at the National Stadium today.

DSC 0651
Naggo Head team captain Yourie Lawrence (centre) accepts the championship trophy from Hon. Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange (left), Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport and Mr. Renardo Smith, administrative director, Institute of Sports on May 13, 2017.

The Portmore institution finished on 238 points to secure their eighth title overall, leaving them two behind Waterford who have won the championships 10 times. Greater Portmore (147 points) was second, followed by Spanish Town (95), surprised package Lyssons (86) and Rousseau who amassed 82 points.

With one of the largest teams at these championships and fielding a representative in most of the finals, it came as no surprise that Naggo Head added another title, as they swept four of the 11 relays on the final day.

Lyssons of St Thomas surprised everyone by finishing in the top-five thanks to some brilliant individual performances and a record-breaking team display.

DSC 0628
Runners-up Greater Portmore collects their trophy from Hon. Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange (left), Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport. Sharing in the moment is Renardo Smith (left) administrative director, Institute of Sports on May 13, 2017.

Three records were broken on the final day with Buff Bay setting a new championship record of one minute, 58.22 seconds in the girls’ sprint medley Open, bettering the 2014 mark of one minute, 58.56 seconds set by New Providence.

Lawrence Tavern established a new mark of 56.71 seconds in the Class Four boys’ 4x100m relay, erasing Clan Carthy’s 57.37 seconds done in 2013.

Lyssons capped a fantastic performance, setting a new record of one minute 45.86 seconds in the 4x200m relay Open for girls. They erased the eight-year-old mark of one minute 47.71 seconds set by St Benedict’s.

Christopher Scott, who was named overall champions boy, of Old Harbour Primary completed the Class One boys’ sprint double by adding the 100m title with a winning time of 12.46 seconds, beating once again main rival Yourie Lawrence (12.79) of Naggo Head and Antonio Forbes (13.30) of Belmont Park.

DSC 0615
Hon. Olivia ‘Babsy’ Grange (right) Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport presents Lyssons Primary with the fourth placed trophy at the end of the 37th INSPORTS Primary School Athletics Championships at the National Stadium on May 13, 2017.

Alana Reid of Naggo Head lived up to her pre-race favourite tag as she easily took home the Class One girls 100m in 13.06 seconds. Toni-Ann Forbes of Rock Hall was second in 13.48, while Naggo Head’s Juwanna Whitebourne was third in 13.55 seconds.

The Class Two girls’ 100m provided plenty of excitement as overall champion girl Quana Walker (13.56) of Lyssons kept her form to secure victory ahead of Channel Thompson (13.63) of St Richard’s and Sashuana Smith (13.65) of Mineral Heights.

After losing the 200m, Belmont Park’s Ra-John Gray redeemed himself in the 100m, winning in 13.54 seconds while holding off Oshane Tucker (13.56) of Sargeantville and 100m champion Marvin Patterson (13.59) of Portsmouth.

Combined Points Table
Naggo Head 238
Greater Portmore 147
Spanish Town 95
Lyssons 86
Rousseau 82
Belmont Park 80
Harbour View 77
Lawrence Tavern 70
Portsmouth 63
St John’s 58


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here