BEIJING, CHINA - AUGUST 30: Stephenie Ann McPherson of Jamaica competes in the Women's 4x400 Relay Final during day nine of the 15th IAAF World Athletics Championships Beijing 2015 at Beijing National Stadium on August 30, 2015 in Beijing, China. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Stephenie Ann McPherson

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Friday, September 09, 2016 – Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport, Honourable Olivia Grange has congratulated Diamond League champions Elaine Thompson and Stephenie-Ann McPherson.

Thompson set a meet record of 10.72 seconds to win the 100 metres race in Brussels today (Friday). Christania Williams, Simone Facey and Natasha Morrison finished 3rd, 6th and 8th respectively.

Today’s victory enabled Thompson to win the women’s 100 metres Diamond League trophy for being the top athlete in the series.

Minister Grange said:
“The Diamond League trophy to go with her Olympic triumphs completes a very good season for Elaine Thompson. She has worked hard and she has been performing well. She is deserving of every success. As a country we are very proud to have both Diamond League 100 metres champions and the women Diamond League 400 metres champion.”

Last week Asafa Powell won the men’s 100m Diamond League trophy and today Stephenie Ann McPherson won the women’s 400 metres Diamond League trophy despite finishing third in today’s race ahead of Shericka Jackson who finished fourth.

The Minister also congratulated Julian Forte who ran a personal best of 10.97 seconds to win the men’s 200 metres. She further expressed appreciation to Kimberly Williams, Kaliese Spencer and Damar Forbes who also competed in today’s Diamond League meet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here