KINGSTON, Jamaica – Defending World Junior 400m hurdles champion Jaheel Hyde and World Youth 400m champion Christopher Taylor head Jamaica’s team to the IAAF World U20 Championships.

Hyde and Taylor head the 22 male athletes while Junelle Bromfield and Kimone Shaw will lead the 18-member female party for the July 19-24 Championships, set for Bydgoszcz in Poland.

Also included in team of forty (40) athletes and eleven (11) officials released on Wednesday by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA), are Akeem Bloomfield, the only Jamaican schoolboy to run sub-44 seconds, professional athlete Nigel Ellis, Shellece Clark, and Raheem Chambers.

100m: Raheem Chambers, Nigel Ellis, Jhevaughn Matherson
200m: Akeem Bloomfield, Hujaye Cornwall, Nigel Ellis
400m: Sean Bailey, Anthony Carpenter, Christopher Taylor
110m hurdles: Dejour Russell, Damion Thomas
400m hurdles: Timor Barrett, Aykeeme Francis, Jaheel Hyde
Long jump: Shawn D Thompson, Obrien Wasome
Triple jump: Javier Lowe, Jordan Scott, Obrien Wasome
Shot put: Sanjae Lawrence, Kevin Nedrick
Discus: Kevin Nedrick, Roje Stona
4x100m: Akeem Bloomfield, Raheem Chambers, Hujaye Cornwall, Nigel Ellis, Fabian Hewitt, Jhevaughn Matherson
4x400m: Sean Bailey, Anthony Carpenter, Christopher Taylor, Jaheel Hyde, Terry Thomas

100m: Rushelle Burton, Patrice Moody, Vanesha Pusey
200m: Roniesha McGregor, Shanice Reid
400m: Junelle Bromfield, Tiffany James, Stacey-Ann Williams
100m hurdles: Rushelle Burton, Jeanine Williams
400m hurdles: Nicolee Foster, Shannon Kalawan
Long jump: Jessica Noble
Triple jump: Shanique Wright
Shot put: Janell Fullerton
Discus: Devia Brown, Shanice Love
4x100m: Rushelle Burton, Shellece Clark, Patrice Moody, Vanesha Pusey, Shanice Reid, Kimone Shaw
4x400m: Junelle Bromfield, Nicolee Foster, Tiffany James, Shannon Kalawan, Roniesha McGregor, Stacey-Ann Williams

Management Team
Ewan Scott – Team Leader
Tricia Gayle – Team Official
Leroy Cooke – Team Official
Lincoln Cox – Team Doctor
Donald Hawthorne – Head Coach
Michael Dyke – Coach
Neil Harrison – Coach
H. Michael Vassell – Coach
Reynaldo Walcott – Coach
Marland Thomas – Masseur


  1. Sometimes I wonder about the JAAA. Manley did not make the team because he filled out the medical exemption form wrong. Now couldn’t they call him and tell him that the form is filled out wrong instead of just saying no excemption? Nigel Ellis should be on the 100m team,because no one else has a chance to medal.. I wonder if they want to choose the best team or they just need a team. With the limited resources they need to carry the best team not just a team. Why travel all that way just to show up ?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here