Jamaicans Courtney Lawrence, Nickisha Pryce, Dashinelle Dyer, Shakwon Coke and Kayan Green were winners at last weekend’s NJCAA National Championships in Pittsburg, USA.

Dyer ran away with the men’s 60m in 6.70s. He beat Dakari Carter (Butler CC) 6.72 and Guinove Joanus (Coffeyville) 6.75.

Pryce (Iowa Western) crossed the finish line in 53.38 to beat Kaled McDonald (Bulter) 55.24 and Lashanna Graham (Barton County) 55.53 in the women’s 400m.

In the 200m, Pryce returned with 23.80 for second place behind Rosemary Chukwuma (South Plains) 23.78.

Barton County’s Green, who represented Edwin Allen at Champs, topped the women’s 800m final in 2:12.48. Green’s closest rival was Flomena Asekol (New Mexico) 2:13.05.
Cemore Donald, also a former Edwin Allen athlete, finished fifth for South Plains in 2:20.62.

Lawrence (Cloud County) took the top spot in the men’s shot with 18.83m to beat Fred Moudani (Barton County) 18.64m.

Coke’s victory came in the men’s long jump for Barton County. He leapt 7.76m to beat Michael Buchanan (Iowa Western) 7.33m and Tony McNeal (South Plains) 7.26m.

Coke picked up silver in the triple jump with 15.52m. Henry Kiner (Coffeyville) won the event with 15.54m.

Annia Ashley, formerly of Edwin Allen, won three medals. Her best place was in the women’s triple jump, where she hop-skip-jump 12.39m to finish behind Onaara Obamuwagun (South Plains) 13.13m.

Annia Ashley (Barton) finished third in the women’s high jump with a clearance of 1.71m, the same height as her teammate Nia Robinson, who got second. Aaliyah McNeil (Iowa Western) won the event with 1.76m.
Ashley was third in the long jump with 6.00m. Robinson won the event with 6.12m ahead of Onaara Obamuwagun (South Plains) 6.04m.

Marie Forbes (Cloud County), formerly of Vere, threw 13.48m to finish behind winner Ana Da Silva (Barton County) in the women’s shot put.

Trinidad and Tobago’s national Camille Lewis (South Plains) ran 1:34.08 to pick up silver in the women’s 600m final. Pamela Milano (Cloud County) won the event in 1:32.82.

Linesha Thompson (Butler CC) and formerly of St. Andrew Technical, finished third in the women’s 60m after crossing the finish line in 7.45.
Rosemary Chukwuma (South Plains) won the event in 7.34 ahead of Mercy Ntia-Obong (Cloud County), 7.44.

We want to hear from you, but before you do, HIT the share buttons below to share this and other stories with friends.
Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. Also, join OUR Message Boards (FORUM) for more discussions —- Please remember to follow us on social media – subscribe to our social media pages
youtubeTrackalertstv facebookTrackalerts instagramTrackalerts TwitterTrackalerts

Previous articleThomas, McLeod, Lloyd secure SEC Indoor titles
Next articleGittens sets collegiate and national record at NCAA Champs
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here