Clayton Brown comes up big at US meet
Clayton Brown shines

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Gators will enter championship season this weekend as they head to College Station, Texas, for this year’s Indoors SEC Championships. 

Florida’s men, who were crowned indoor champions in 2019, will look to defend the title during this weekend’s two-day championship meet while sitting at the No. 3 spot in the latest national rankings. Meanwhile, Florida’s women will enter the weekend ranked 11th nationally.

The men’s 60 meters will be headlined by senior Raymond Ekevwo, who established himself as the NCAA leader during this year’s Razorback Invitational. The Nigerian sprinter crossed in 6.53 seconds in Arkansas, moving to the No. 3 spot on UF’s All-Time Top 10 list and coming 0.03 seconds short from tying 2019 The Bowerman winner Grant Holloway’s 6.50 school record.

Senior Doneisha Anderson (Bahamas), who logged an NCAA-leading time of 52.06 seconds two weeks ago during Clemson’s Tiger Paw Invitational, will look to make a splash in the 400. She will be joined by fellow quarter-miler Taylor Manson, who ranks ninth in the nation and fourth in the SEC. 

Junior Cory Poole will represent the Gators in the 60-meter hurdles. The hurdler, who ranks tied for fifth in the nation and tied for second in the SEC, logged a 7.66-second time in Clemson, moving the No. 3 spot on UF’s All-Time Top 10 list.

Thrower Thomas Mardal will headline the weight throw for Florida, while Jumper Clayton Brown (Jamaica) will represent the Gators in triple jump and the high jump.

Mardal, who made his season debut two weeks ago in Clemson, ranks fourth in the nation and second in the SEC with a 22.75-meter mark. Meanwhile, Brown ranks tied for fifth in the nation and tied for third in the SEC in the high jump, while standing fifth nationally and second in the conference in the triple jump. 

Newcomer Semira Killebrew, who ranks second in school history and eight nationally, will be seen during the women’s 60 meters. Killebrew set a new personal-best time of 7.19 seconds in Clemson, falling only 0.03 seconds short of setting a new school record. 


  • Clayton Brown – Triple Jump (Silver)
  • Jack Guyton, Justin Pacifico – DMR (Bronze)
  • Thomas Mardal – Weight Throw (Bronze)
  • Doneisha Anderson, Taylor Manson, Nikki Stephens – 4×400 Relay (Bronze)
  • Abbie Harrelson – DMR (Silver)



  • Meet Website
  • Meet Notes (PDF)
  • Ranked Teams: Alabama (No. 23 men; No. 17 women), Arkansas (No. 3 women, No. 10 men), Georgia (No. 2 women; No. 6 men), Kentucky (No. 6 women, No. 19 men), LSU (No. 1 women; No. 2 men), Ole Miss (No. 20 women), Tennessee (No. 8 men), Texas A&M (No.5 women, No. 13 men)
  • Venue: Gilliam Indoor Track (Texas A&M University)

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected]. Also, please remember to follow us on social media – subscribe to our social media pages –
youtubeTrackalertstv facebookTrackalerts instagramTrackalerts TwitterTrackalerts

Previous articleBoys and Girls Champs Records
Next articleHOT PICKS: Gibson/McCook Relays
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here