Coverage of the 17th IAAF World Championships #Doha2019 is brought to you by #Puma:puma red logo

DOHA, Qatar – Tajay Gayle is over the moon after his shocking long jump gold medal performance on Saturday (28 Sept) at the 17th IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019.

Gayle, who went into the final as the 12th best qualifier after Friday’s opening round, put things together and was off to a fantastic start. He opened with 8.46m and killed his challengers with 8.69m.

“I changed only one thing today, and that was the run-up. Words can’t explain how I am feeling right now,” he said.

Gayle, the first Jamaican to win the event at this level, beat the Jamaican record of 8.62m set by James Beckford 22 years ago.

American Jeff Henderson (8.39m) and Cuba’s Juan Miguel Echevarria (8.34m) were the silver and bronze medal winners.

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected] or WhatsApp your results, photos and videos to 876-893-4157


  1. Mi say Stephen Francis deserve another national award come October 21. I was saying why him changing Tajay Gayle ‘s approach 2 weeks before the championship but the man is a genius. Congratulations Tajay


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here