Ready for Brussels Diamond League Elaine Thompson-Herah Tokyo 2020
Elaine Thompson To Skip Diamond League 100m final in Brussels (September 6)

Several world-class athletes are down to compete at next month’s NACAC Championships. The event will be held on August 10-12 at Toronto’s Varsity Stadium.

Athletes from 28 countries, including reigning Olympic champions Elaine Thompson of Jamaica (100m, 200m) and Jeff Henderson (long jump) from the United States.

American 2017 world 400m champion Phyllis Francis is also down to compete, so too her compatriot Kendra Harrison, the 100m hurdles World record holder.

Throws fans are also in for a treat with Jamaica’s O’Dayne Richards (2015 World shot put bronze medallist), Trinidad and Tobago’s Keshorn Walcott (2012 Olympic champion and 2016 Olympic bronze medallist in the javelin) and Mason Finley of the United States (bronze at the 2017 World Championships) amongst others.

Temporary seating has been brought in for the throws events, any individual single-day ticket will give fans access to the throws area.


Alonzo Russell Bronze at 2016 Olympic Games (4x400m)

Donald Thomas 2007 World Champion (high jump)

Shawn Barber  2015 World Champion (pole vault)

Aaron Brown 
Bronze at 2016 Olympic Games (4x100m), Bronze at 2013 & 2015 World Championships (4x100m)

Gavin Smellie
 Bronze at 2013 World Championships (4x100m)

Yarisley­ Silva  Silver at 2012 Olympic Games, 2015 World Champion, Bronze at 2013 & 2017 World Championships (pole vault)

Elaine Thompson 2016 Olympic Champion (100m & 200m), Silver in 4x100m. Gold (4x100m) and Silver (200m) at 2015 World Championships

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Olympic Champion in 2008 & 2012 (100m). Silver at 2012 Olympic Games (200m), Silver at 2012 & 2016 Olympic Games (4x100m). 7-time Gold medallist at the World Championships.

Shericka Jackson 
Silver (4x400m) and Bronze (400m) at the 2016 Olympic Games, 2015 World Champion (4x400m), Bronze at 2015 World Championships (400m)

Shashalee Forbes Bronze at 2017 World Championships (4x100m)

Stephanie Ann McPherson Silver at 2016 Olympic Games (4x400m), 2015 World Champion (4x400m). Bronze at 2013 World Championships (4x400m).

Christine Day Silver at 2012 Olympic Games (4x400m), 2015 World Champion (4x400m)

Danielle Williams 2015 World Champion (100mH)

Fitzroy Dunkley  Silver at 2016 Olympic Games (4x400m)

O’Dayne Richards Bronze at 2015 World Championships (shot put)


Keston Bledman Silver at 2008 & 2012 Olympic Games (4x100m)

Jereem Richards  Bronze (200m) & Gold (4x400m) at 2017 World Championships

Deon Lendore Bronze at 2012 Olympic Games (4x400m)

Jehue Gordon  Gold at 2013 World Championships (400mH)

Keshorn Walcott  Gold at 2012 Olympic Games, Bronze at 2016 Olympic Games (javelin)

Jenna Prandini Silver at 2015 World Championships (4x100m)

Phyllis Francis 2016 Olympic Champion (4x400m), 2017 World Champion (400m and 400mH)

Courtney Okolo 2016 Olympic Champion (4x400m)

Shamier Little Silver at 2015 World Championships (400mH)

Ajee Wilson  Bronze at 2017 World Championships (800m)

Sandi Morris  Silver at 2016 Olympic Games, Silver at 2017 World Championships (pole vault)

Michael Cherry Silver at 2017 World Championships (4x400m)

Clayton Murphy Bronze at 2016 Olympic Games (800m)

Jeff Henderson 2016 Olympic Champion (long jump)

Mason Finley  Bronze at 2017 World Championships (discus)

Previous articleMiller-Uibo, Goule run PBs at Monaco DL
Next articleWatch Shaunae Miller-Uibo 48.97 race #MonacoDL
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here