Jamaica's Usain Bolt, right, winner of the men's 100-meter final embraces South Africa's Wayde Van Niekerk, winner of the men's 400-meter final during the athletics competitions of the 2016 Summer Olympics at the Olympic stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, Aug. 14, 2016. (AP Photo/Julio Cortez)

Usain Bolt has taken over the lead from South African Wayde van Niekerk for top male track and field athlete of 2016.

On the third day of voting by fans, over 4,000 people already voted for Bolt.

Bolt, also in Rio, won his third straight sprint double crown, has 4,200 votes so far.

van Niekerk, who ran 42.03 to break the world 400m record on his way to Rio 2016 Olympic glory, dropped to second from day two with 1,900.

Omar McLeod, Jamaica’s World Indoor and Olympic Games sprint hurdles champion, has jumped five places to 3rd with over 1,600 votes from day two.

Mo Farah, Great Britain’s Olympic Games 5,000/10,000m champion has 444 votes, in third position.

Triple Jumper Catherine Ibarguen of Columbia is well out front in the women’s race with over 18,000 votes, ahead of Polish hammer Thrower, Anita Wlodarczyk 4,000.

Jamaica’s Olympic Games sprint double champion Elaine Thompson has so far notched over 3,700 votes.

American Kendra Harrison, despite her world record-breaking run of 12.20, has scored 594 votes. She didn’t make the USA team to Rio.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family* will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on 1st November. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night, Friday December 2, 2016.

The full list of nominated athletes below:
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Conselsus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

Previous article“Life is not a joke” Gay says at candlelight vigil
Next articleGrenada readies for big league athletics
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here