photomark 1 1024x531 1024x531 1Olympic Games debut

1948 (London, England): Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago

1952 (Helsinki, Finland): Bahamas#

1968 (Mexico City, Mexico): Barbados,  US Virgin Islands

1976 (Montreal, Canada): Antigua and Barbuda, Netherlands Antilles*

1984 (Los Angeles, USA): British Virgin Islands, Grenada

1988 (Seoul, South Korea): Cayman Islands, St. Vincent & the Grenadines

1996 (Atlanta, USA): Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis

2012 (London, England): Curacao*

Montserrat is set to compete for the first time in 2016.

Anguilla and Turks and Caicos have never sent a representative to Olympics as the territories do not have an Olympic Committee.

#Bahamas first competed in 1952 with a team of seven sailors. Athletes competed for the first time in 1956.

*Curacao athletes previous competed as part of the Netherlands Antilles. However, the Netherlands Antilles were dissolved in 2010 and became a part of the Netherlands. However, Curacao athletes competed under the IOC flag in 2012.

(Source-2016 Rio Olympics IAAF Hand book).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here