Trinidad and Tobago’s rising star, Khalifa St. Fort, won bronze for her country at the IAAF World Under-20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland on Thursday (21 July).

The 18-year-old, who will next represent her country at the Rio Olympic Games, secured her place on the medal podium in the women’s 100m dash. Her time of 11.18secs was only bettered by American Candace Hill, who beat her last year for World Youth title, 11.07CR and homegirl, Ewa Swoboda, 11.12NR.

The Ato Boldon-coached, St. Fort had the best reaction time, but Hill’s top end speed took away the race.

“I felt that I have a great start and that everything was great. I am so blessed to compete out here injury free and I had a wonderful time competing with these wonderful athletes. I just love it, I am really happy,” said St Fort.

It was St Fort’s third medal at the international level. She was second at the 2015 IAAF World U18 Championships in Cali, Colombia and later helped Trinidad and Tobago to bronze in the women’s 4X100m relay at the 2015 World Championships in Beijing China.

Previous articleVIDEO: Tiffany James, 400m Gold #WU20Champs
Next articleDejour Russell misses 110mh medal #WU20Champs
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here