Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Elaine Thompson-Herah at Pre Classic
Milo Western Relays Live Stream. Elaine Thompson, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce in Jamaica's team for NACAC Championships

Sprint stars Elaine Thompson-Herah and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce conferred with the Order of Distinction in Commander Class (CD) rank on Monday (18 Sept).

In a concise message on her social media page, Fraser-Pryce wrote: “Distinction through Service #HappyHeroesDay #MommyRocket #CommanderClass #MadeForMore.”

Shelly-Ann is a two-time Olympic Games 100m champion. She won the titles in Beijing 2008 and London 2012. She also added bronze in Rio 2016 and silver in Tokyo 2020.
She is the only woman to win the 100m on four occasions at the IAAF World Athletics Championships.

Shelly-Ann’s award is an upgrade to her Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer (OD) received a few years ago.

Meanwhile, Thompson-Herah, who won back-to-back Olympic Games sprint double titles, is collecting her first national honour.

“I have been inspired and motivated by powerful women around the world, powerful women from my island home Jamaica,” ETH said on social media.

“I feel so honoured and overjoyed to be given this Order of Distinction Commander Class by my nation. I now use this classification to help motivate and uplift women and young girls to strive without limits. To God be the glory,” she said.

Order of Distinction is Jamaica’s sixth highest honour.

Previous articleElaine Thompson-Herah confirms MVP exit
Next articleSpecial moment for Thompson-Herah on Heroes Day
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.