By Kimberly Allen, TrackAlerts.Com Writer 

Sherone Simpson has added another gold medal to her portfolio, as she was crowned the new Pan Am Games champion for the Women's 100m in the YOR stadium, Toronto, Canada. She won the 2006 Commonwealth Games 200m title. 

At this year's Games with a time of 10.95s. Simpson, who was third in the semi finals, came to the finals with a big run and managed to not only win, but to cop a season best as well.

Second was the young Ecuadorian sprinter Angela Tenorio, who ran a personal record of 10.99s. Barbara Pierre, who is the new Pan Am Games record holder managed to walk away with a bronze medal with a time of 11.01. Pierre, broke the record in Tuesday's heat from 11.02s to 10.92s which was set by her country woman Miki Barber in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil on July 24, 2007.

There was also a new men's champion as Andre De Grasse from Canada won the finals in 10.05s. De Grasse, who was first in the semi finals was followed by Ramon Gittens of Barbados who clocked a time of 10.07s not only winning a silver medal but a new season's best as well.

This year's bronze medalist was Antoine Adams of St. Kitts and Nevis, who also got a season's best of 10.09s. Fourth was Keston Bledman of Trinidad and Tobago with 10.12s. Jason Livermore of Jamaica, who ran a time of 10.17s as well as BeeJay Lee of the USA was placed 7th while Lee 6th.


Follow us on Twitter @trackalerts  Like our page  Subcribe to our  or


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here