By Kimberly Allen, TrackAlerts.Com Writer 

June 28,2015, The last day of the JAAA National Senior Championships ended with birthday girl Elaine Thompson, not only booking her ticket on her first World Championships team, but was also this year's 200M national champion in a time of 22.51 with a wind speed of -2.4.

Thompson who was first off the corner, sped ahead of Sherone Simpson, who was 2nd with 22.77 and Veronica Campbell-Brown, who was neck to neck with Simone Facey on the line. The 4-time Olympian managed to cop 3rd place with a time of 23.02.

In the men's equivalent, Julian Forte who was ahead in lane 5 dominated for the most part of the race until, Nickel Ashmeade took over and brought it home as this year's 200M National Champion in 20.36. Olympic bronze medalist, Warren Weir battled for 2nd in 20.40. Forte who came 3rd got a time of 20.51.

400M sensation, Javon"Donkey Man" Francis, is our new national champion with a time of 44.70. Donkey Man who came into action in the latter part of his race made a big finishing run to slightly beat Rusheen McDonald at the line, and who ended with a time of 44.73.

There was great success for the MVP camp as it was 1,2,3 for them in the Women's 400M. Christine Day who also made her first national team is the new national champion for 400M with 50.16 (EPR). Day dominated the race for the most part, but came under pressure by teammate Shericka Jackson in the last 20 meters of the race, but managed to hold on to her number 1 spot. Jackson copped a time of 50.31 to be placed 2nd ahead of training partner Stephenie McPherson 3rd in 50.49, leaving Anastacia Le-Roy in 4th with 51.28.

The 100MH was a bit disappointing for young talent and intercollegiate champion Megan Simmonds who fell but managed to finish in the prelim rounds. However, the Williams sisters came with a job in mind and did just that. Danielle, former National Champion, led the field from start to finish. She managed to clock a time of 12.71 to regain her title ahead of Shermaine, who ran 12.84 for 2nd and Kimberley Laing in 3rd with 12.89.

The track wasn't the only place of action, as the field was quiet busy. Kimberly Williams is this year's National triple jump champion with her winning jump of 14.34M in her second attempt. She not only won, but secured the automatic qualifying jump for the IAAF World Championship. In second was Shanieka Thomas who made her silver medal jump of  13.69m in 0.2 wind in her final attempt. Imani Oliver who got 3rd place with a jump of 13.05 with a wind of 0.7.

Olivia McKoy, national women's javelin champion three her wining throw of 46.45M in her fourth attempt after only fouling one throw. Kateema Riettie, silver medalist in the event managed to throw 46.29M also in her fourth throw. Thrid place was given to Taleika Nelson who threw 40.7M.

The Men's shot put saw National record holder O'Dayne Richards winning with a throw of 20.13M. Second was Raymond Brown who managed to throw 18.20M ahead of Ashinia Miller who was 3rd with 18.02M.

For the female high jump, the named champion for this year was Kimberly Williamson who was the only one to jump 1.81M. Second place was Saniel Atkinson-Grier with 1.78M. Misha-Gaye Dacosta of UWI, also jumped this height but was placed 3rd. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here