Karsten Warholm, Athletissima Lausanne Diamond League , Olympic 2020 winner
Norway's Karsten Warholm reacts after winning and breaking the world record in the men's 400m hurdles final during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Olympic Stadium in Tokyo on August 3, 2021. (Photo by Giuseppe CACACE / AFP) (Photo by GIUSEPPE CACACE/AFP via Getty Images)

Twelve (12) men and women have been nominated for the European Athletes of the Year award. The list includes 2019 Olympic Games winners Karsten Warholm from Norway and Russia’s Mariya Lasitskene.

Other nominees for the men’s award include Armand Duplantis, Jakob Ingebrigtsen and Marcell Jacobs. The only non-Olympic winner to be nominated is Germany’s, Johannes Vetter. 

Also there will be Dawid Tomala, Gianmarco Tamberi, Miltiadis Tentoglou, Massimo Stano, Pedro Pablo Pichardo, Daniel Stahl and Wojciech Nowicki.

Other nominees on the women’s side include Sifan Hassan, Femke Bol, Anita Wlodarczyk and Malaika Mihambo. 

Also on the list are Laura Muir, Nafi Thiam, Antonella Palmisano, Anzhelika Sidorova, Maria Andrejczyk, Patricia Mamona and Keely Hodkginson. 

The winners will be announced at the Golden Tracks Award Ceremony in Lausanne on 16 October.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here