Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Pulls Out Of 200m #Doha2019
DOHA, QATAR - SEPTEMBER 29: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce of Jamaica celebrates winning the Women's 100 Metres final during day three of 17th IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 at Khalifa International Stadium on September 29, 2019 in Doha, Qatar. (Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images for IAAF )

Jamaican Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Bahamian Shaunae Miller-Uibo will battle over 200m at Friday’s (9 July) Monaco Diamond League. The Herculis EBS meeting is the sixth stop in the Wanda Diamond League Series.

In her last outing, Fraser-Pryce was beaten in the women’s 100m by Elaine Thompson-Herah 10.71 to 10.82 at the Hungarian Athletics Grand Prix on Tuesday (6 July). Miller-Uibo was beaten at the same meet, running 22.15 to Shericka Jackson, 21.96.

The 200m showdown will see Fraser-Pryce, the Doha 2019 world champion, against Olympic 400m champion Miller-Uibo, American Tamara Clark and the in-form Blessing Okagbare and Marie-Josee Ta Lou.

“I know Manoco has a very good track…The last time I ran (the 200m) was in Kingston, and I ran that 21-point. I definitely felt they are phases in that race that I could have done better, so I am hoping to do that tomorrow (in Monaco).

 How to Watch the Monaco Diamond League Live stream 

Fraser-Pryce was not ready to say what phases she is looking to improve.

“I am definitely working on phases that will give me the advantage, and if I tell you, then, might as well I tell everybody else,” she said with a big smile.

Below are the Jamaicans and world-leading athletes with the schedule in Ja time (+1 EST)

  • 1:03 pm – Men’s 400m hurdles (Karsten Warholm, Kyron McMaster, Alison dos Santos)
  • 1:07 pm – Women’s triple jump – (Shanieka Ricketts, Yulimar Rojas, Kimberly Williams)
  • 1:18 pm – Women’s 800m (Natoya Goule-Toppin, Rose Mary Almanaz, Laura Muir, Kate Grace, Halimah Nakaayi)
  • 1:24 pm – Women’s Javelin
  • 1:32 pm – Men’s 1500m – (Jakob Ingebrigtsen, Timothy Cheruiyot, Stewart McSweyn, Filip Ingebrightsen)
  • 1:43 pm – Women’s 200m (Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Shaubae Miller-Uibo, Marie-Josee TA Lou, Blessing Okagbare)
  • 1:49 pm – Men’s 3,000m Steeplechase
  • 1:50pm – Men’s Long Jump – (Tajay Gayle, Juan Miguel Echevarria, Miltiadis Tentoglou)
  • 2:06 pm – Men’s 800m – (Clayton Murphy, Patryk Dobek, Oliver Dustin, Ferguson Rotich)
  • 2:16 pm – Women’s 1500m – (Sifan Hassan, Faith Kipyegon)
  • 2:28 pm – Men’s 100m – (Trayvon Bromell, Fred Kerley, Akani Simbine, Andre De Grasse, Ronnie Baker)
  • 2:36 pm – Women’s 3,000m Steeplechase
  • 2:47 pm – Men’s Long Jump Final three jump-off


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here