Omar McLeod ready for Millrose Games
Omar McLeod

MONACO – The IAAF has announced its 10 nominees for World Athlete of the Year.

Men: Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT), Pawel Fajdek (POL), Mohamed Farah (GBR), Sam Kendricks (USA), Elijah Manangoi (KEN), Luvo Manyonga RSA), Omar McLeod (JAM), Christian Taylor (USA), Wayde van Niekerk (RSA), Johannes Vetter (GER).

Women: Almaz Ayana (ETH), Maria Lasitskene (ANA), Hellen Obiri (KEN), Sally Pearson (AUS), Sandra Perkovic (CRO), Brittney Reese (USA), Caster Semenya (RSA), Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE), Nafissatou Thiam (BEL), Anita Wlodarczyk (POL).

The voting process is now open until October 16, after which three finalists will be named. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes (via social media) will each count for 25% of the final result.

On the men side there will be a new winner, from nominated women Ayana and Pearson already won the award in the past.

The winners will be announced at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 in Monaco on November 24.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here