Usain Bolt has admitted there have been times where he has considered coming out of retirement
Usain Bolt's Legacy Endures as He Remains in Top 5 Most Written-About Athletes

photomark 1 1024x531 1024x531 1

Best performer by Event-Men


Jamaica: 2 gold (Bolt-’08, ’12), 4 silver (McKenley-’52, Miller-’68, Quarrie-’76, Blake-’12), 1 bronze (Miller-’72)

Trinidad and Tobago: 1 gold (Crawford-’76), 2 silver (Boldon-’00, R Thompson-’08), 1 bronze (Boldon-’96)

Barbados: 1 bronze (O Thompson-’00)

Other Finalists

Agostini (TTO)-’56,  Robinson (BAH)-’64,  Fray(JAM)-’72, Crawford (TTO)-’72, Stewart (JAM)-’84, ’88,’92, Greene (JAM)’96, Powell (JAM)-’04, ’08, ’12, Collin (SKN)-’00, ’04, O Thompson (BAR)-’04, Burns (TTO)-08, Frater (JAM)-’08, R Thompson (TTO)-’12, Martina (AHO)-08/(NED)-’12


Antigua and Barbuda: Daniel Bailey (’12)

Cayman Islands: Kemar Hyman (’12)

Guyana: James Gilkes (’80)


Bermuda: Dennis Trott (’76)

Grenada: Paul Williams (’12)

US Virgin Islands: Neville Hodges (’84)


British Virgin Islands:J’Maal Alexander (’12)

St. Lucia: Ronald Promesse (’00)

St. Vincent & the Grenadines; Courtney Williams (’12)


Jamaica: 3 gold (Quarrie-’76, Bolt-’08, ’12), 1 silver (Blake-’12), 2 bronze (Quarrie-’80, Weir-’12)

Trinidad and Tobago-3 bronze (Roberts-’64, Boldon-’96, ’00)

Other Finalists

McKenley (JAM)-’48, Laing (JAM)-’48, ’52, Agostini (TTO)-’56, Fray (JAM)-’68, Bradford (JAM)-’76, Crawford (TTO)-’76, O Thompson (BAR)-’96, ’00, Powell (JAM)-’04, Collins (SKN)-’08, Martina (AHO)-08/(NED)-’12


Antigua and Barbuda: Brendan Christian (’08, ’12)

Bermuda: Troy Douglas (’88)

Grenada: James Gilkes (’80)


US Virgin Islands: James Flemming (’88)


Dominica: Chris Lloyd (’08)

Grenada: Gabriel Simeon (’92)

British Virgin Islands: Lindel Hodge (’84, ’88)

St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Eswort Coombs (’92)


Jamaica: 2 gold (Wint-’48 Rhoden-’52, 2 silver (McKenely-’48, ’52), 1 bronze (Haughton-’00)

Grenada: 1 gold (James-’12)

Trinidad and Tobago: 1 silver (Mottley-’64), 1 bronze (L Gordon-’12)

Other Finalists

Wint (JAM)-’52, Skinner (TTO)-’64, Solomon (TTO)-’80, Coombs (TTO)-’80, Cameron (JAM)-’84, Morris (TTO)-’88, ’92, Martin (JAM)-’96, Clarke (JAM)-’96 ’04, McFarlane (JAM)-’00, Simpson (JAM)-’04, Blackwood (JAM)-’04, Francique (GRN)-’04, , Brown (BAH)-’08, ’12, Quow (TTO)-’08, Pinder (BAH)-’12


Barbados: Elvis Forde  (’84)

Bermuda: Troy Douglas (’92)

US Virgin Islands: Tabari Henry (’12)

St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Eswort Coombs (’96)


Antigua & Barbuda: Fred Sowerby (’76)


Dominica: Erison Hurtault (’08)

Guyana: Clayton Glasgow (’60), Winston George (’12)

British Virgin Islands: Dean Greenaway (’84)

St. Lucia: Ivan Jean-Marie (’96)


Jamaica: 2 silver (Wint-’48, ’52)

British West Indies: 1 bronze (Kerr/JAM-’60)

Other Finalists

Kerr (JAM)-’64, Cayenne (TTO)-’68


Guyana: Ralph Gomez (’60)


Antigua & Baruda: Dale Jones (’88, ’92)

Barbados: Milton Browne (’00)

Bermuda: Michael Watson (’88)

Dominica: Cedric Harris (’96)

Grenada: Samuel Sawny (’84)

British Virgin Islands: Jeremy Molyneaux (’84)

St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Eversley Linley (’92)

110m hurdles 

Jamaica-1 bronze (Parchment-’12)

Other Finalists

Gardner (BWI/JAM)-’60, Wignall (JAM)-’04, ’12, Phillips (JAM)-’08, R Brathwaite (BAR)-’12


Trinidad and Tobago: Wayne Davis (’12)


Bahamas: Derrick Knowles (’88)

Cayman Islands: Ronald Forbes (’08)

US Virgin Islands: Jeff Jackson (’00)


Antigua & Barbuda: Conrad Minwaring (’76)

Guyana: Charles Allen (’00)

400m hurdles

Jamaica: 2 silver (Graham-’92, McFarlane-’04)

Other Finalists

Graham (JAM)-’88, McFarlane (JAM)-08, J Gordon (TTO)-’12


Bahamas: Gregory Rolle (’84)


Antigua & Barbuda: Conrad Minwaring (’76)

Guyana: Paul Tucker (’00)

Barbados: Allan Ince (’88)

High Jump

No medals


Saunders (BER)-’88, Kemp (BAH)-’92

Qualifying round

Jamaica: Ernie Haisley (’56)

British Virgin Islands: Karl Scatliffe (’92)

St. Lucia: Darvin Edwards (’12)

Long jump

Jamaica: 1 silver (Beckford-’96)

Other Finalists

Wells (BAH)-‘84, Beckford (JAM)-’04, Tyrone Smith (BER)-’12

Qualifying round

Antigua & Barbuda: Lester Benjamin (’84)

Cayman Islands: Kareem Streete-Thompson (’00)

Grenada: Eugene Licorish (’92)

British Virgin Islands: Keita Cline (’96)

Trinidad and Tobago: George Swanston (’76)

St. Vincent & Grenadines: Orde Ballantyne (’88)

Triple jump

Bahamas: 3 bronze (Rutherford-’92, Sands-’08

Other Finalists

Wellman (BER)-’92, ’96, Sands (BAH)-’12

Qualifying round

Antigua & Barbuda: Maxwell Peters (’76)

Barbados: Alvin Haynes (’92)

Grenada: Randy Lewis (’08)

US Virgin Islands: Muhammad Halim (’12)

Jamaica: Lennox Burgher (’68)

Trinidad and Tobago: Lejuan Simon (’04)

St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Lennox Adams (’88)

Shot put 

no medals


Dorian Scott (JAM)-’12


Trinidad and Tobago: 1 gold (Walcott-’12)


Jamaica: 2 gold (’08, ’12), 1 silver (’84)

Trinidad and Tobago: 2 silver (’08, ’12)

Other Finalists

JAM (’64, ’68,’88, ’00), TTO (’04)


Antigua and Barbuda (’84)

Bermuda (’76)


US Virgin Islands (’92)


Jamaica: 1 gold, (’52) 2 silver (’88, ’00), 1 bronze (’96)

Bahamas: 1 gold (’12), 1 silver (’08), 1 bronze (’00)

British West Indies: 1 bronze

Trinidad and Tobago: 2 bronze (’64, ’12)

Other Finalists

JAM (’48, ’56, ’64,’76, 08), TTO (’68, ’72, 76, ’78, ’92), BAR (’84),  BAH (’96, ’04)

Heats: IVB (’84, ’96), SVG  (’96), LCA (’96), GRN (’96)/GUY (’96)


No medals

9th-Claston Bernard (JAM)-’04/ Maurice Smith (JAM)-’08)

dnf-Clifford Brooks (BAR)-’72/Victor Houston (BAR)-’96/Kurt Felix (GRN)-’12


no medals


Antigua & Barbuda: Dale Jones (’84)

Bermuda: Michael Watson (’88)

Dominica: Steve Agar (’96)

Guyana: Oslen Barr (’84)

Jamaica: Gawain Guy (’84)

Trinidad and Tobago: Wilfred Tull (’48)


No medals


Barbados: Leo GArnes (’92)

Guyana: George de Peana (’60)

Trinidad and Tobago: Mannie Ramjohn (’48)

US Virgin Islands: Marlon Williams (’92)


No medals

Heats: Trinidad and Tobago: Mannie Ramjohn (’48)


No medals

31st-Pamenos Ballantyne (SVG)-’00

32nd-Ronnie Holassie (TTO)-’00

50th-Harry Prowell (GUY)-’68

51st-Derrick Adamson (JAM)-’84

58th- Raymond Swan (BER)-’76

75th-Marlon Williams (ISV)-’84

80th-Zephirinus Joseph (LCA)-’04

Pole Vault

No medals

Qualifying round: St. Lucia: Dominic Johnson (’00)


no medals

Qualifying round

Bahamas: Brad Cooper (’84, ’88)

British Virgin Islands: Eric Matthias(’08)

Jamaica: Traves Smikle (’12)

(Source-2016 Rio Olympics IAAF Hand book).

Previous articleVIDEO: French Gymnast Breaks Leg #Rio2016
Next article1980 Olympics 100m champion expresses doubts about a Bolt win
Clayton Clarke is a freelance track and field journalist since 2005. He is a former athlete and an IAAF Level III coach (Sprints & Hurdles). He has been a writer with Track Alerts since its inception in 2009. He worked with several media houses (radio, tv, newspaper, website) in Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, St. Kitts Nevis and the Bahamas. The Tobago native has covered the Carifta Games since 2005, the 2010 Commonwealth Games, 2011 World Athletic Championships and numerous local and regional track and field events.. Though track and field is his passion and main interest, he has served as media liaison with numerous sporting bodies in T&T and in particular in Tobago, namely cycling, chess, football, beach soccer, taekwondo, rugby, swimming, tennis and beach volleyball.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here