PARIS – Hansle Parchment flashed to a world-leading and new Jamaican national record on his way to winning the men’s 110m hurdles at the Meeting Areva IAAF Diamond League meeting in Paris on Saturday, 5 July, (See Race Video Below).

Parchment, who got off to a modest start, pulled away from the field at the last two barriers to set a new personal best of 12.94 seconds and became the first Jamaican male hurdler under the 13-seconds barrier.
The Olympic Games bronze medal winner from London 2012, improved his own Jamaican national record, which was set last year, at 13.05.

Parchment defeated a very solid field that had also included the on form Pascal Martinot-Lagarde of France, who also went on to set a new personal best of 13.05secs for second place, while third place went to Cuba’s Orlando Ortega, in 13.10.

American World champion David Oliver could only managed fifth in 13.26.

In the men’s 100m, Trinidad & Tobago’s world leader Richard Thompson pocketed 2nd place in 10.08, just ahead of Kim Collins of St. Kitts and Nevis 10.10 and Jamaicans Nesta Carter, 4th, 10.12 and Kemar Bailey-Cole, 5th, 10.14. The event was won by American Mike Rodgers.

Anthonique Strachan of Bahamas was the best placed Caribbean athlete in the women’s 200m, which saw the return of Jamaican Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce. Strachan was 3rd in 22.54 while Fraser-Pryce, who struggled with injuries this season, finished 5th in 22.63. Simone Facey, also of Jamaica, finished 6th in 22.75. The event winner was Blessing Okagbare of Nigeria 22.32 ahead of American Allyson Felix 22.34.

Jamaicans Stephenie Ann McPherson 50.40 and Novleve Williams-Mills 50.68 were 2nd and 3rd respectively in the women’s 400m, won by American Sanya Richards-Ross 50.10. 

Dawn Harper-Nelson of USA won the women’s 100m sprint hurdles in a world-leading 12.44, striding home ahead of fellow countrywomen, Queen Harrison (12.46) and Lolo Jones (12.68).

French star Cindy Billaud continues to run well this season, after posting 12.71 for fourth place.

The men’s 400m hurdles saw Michael Tinsley of USA winning in a seasonal best of 48.25, beating Edwin Fredericks of South Africa (48.42) and Javier Culson of Puerto Rica (48.45).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here