Julien Alfred....The sophomore sprinter has the NCAA-leading mark at 60m and the No. 4 time at 200m this season. NCAA final
Alfred, a native of Castries, St. Lucia, currently holds the NCAA’s leading mark in the women’s 60-meter dash, clocking a school-record 7.10 at the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Collegiate Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M., back on Jan. 25

Julien Alfred, the Texan sprinter, put on a stellar performance at the Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships on Friday, leading the Women’s 60-meter dash finalists with an impressive time of 7.03. Alfred’s performance secured her a spot in the finals, where she will be looking to continue her dominant performance and clinch the gold medal.

Iyana Gray from TCU finished with a time of 7.29, also earning a spot in the finals. Meanwhile, Lanae Thomas from Texas qualified as one of the fast losers with a time of 7.30. How to watch the Big 12 Indoor Championships?

In Heat 3, Texas’ Kevona Davis finished with a time of 7.25, crossing the line behind Ezinne Abba of Texas, who finished with a time of 7.19, and Oklahoma’s Kennedy Blackmon, who finished with a time of 7.24.

Moving on to the Women’s 400m event, Kennedy Simon from Texas topped the leaderboard with a time of 51.80, finishing first in her heat with a split time of 24.40 for the first 200m and 27.41 for the second 200m. Rhasidat Adeleke from Texas also qualified with a time of 52.17, finishing first in her heat with a split time of 24.74 for the first 200m and 27.43 for the second 200m. Rachel Joseph from Iowa State made the cut with a time of 52.92.

In the Men’s 60m event, Terrence Jones from Texas Tech set a new Meet Record (MR) with a time of 6.46. Marcellus Moore from Texas and Caleb Dean from Texas Tech also qualified with a time of 6.58. Marcellus placed first in his heat with a time of 6.571, while Caleb placed second in the same heat with the same time of 6.571.

For the Men’s 400m event, the top three qualifiers were Matthew Moorer from Baylor with a time of 45.84, Nathaniel Ezekiel from Baylor with a time of 45.90, and Richard Kuykendoll from Oklahoma with a time of 45.94.

In the Men’s long jump event, Nikaoli Williams from Oklahoma emerged victorious with a distance of 7.73 meters (25-4 ½ feet). Solomon Washington from Texas finished second with a distance of 7.66 meters (25-1 ¾ feet), followed closely by Tayton Klein from Kansas, who leaped a distance of 7.63 meters (25-0 ½ feet).

In the Women’s long jump event, Sydney Willits from Iowa State claimed the top spot with a distance of 6.33 meters (20-9 ¼ feet). Bailey Golden from Oklahoma State finished second with a distance of 6.25 meters (20-6 ¼ feet), while Shalom Olotu from Kansas State finished third with a distance of 6.18 meters (20-3 ½ feet).

Previous articleFerdinand Omanayala Breaks February Record with 9.86s in 100m Heat
Next articleKevona Davis Dominates 200m Qualifiers at Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here