Elaine Thompson-Herah and Hansle Parchment were crowned Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year
Elaine Thompson-Herah and Hansle Parchment were crowned Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year

In the Television Premiere of the 2021 RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards, Elaine Thompson-Herah and Hansle Parchment were crowned Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year, respectively (21 Jan 2022).

Thompson-Herah, who had an outstanding year and was also named World Athletics’ Female Athlete of the Year won, among other things, on the basis of her Olympic gold medal triple in Tokyo and her amazing 10.54-second run in Eugene, Oregon.

Thompson-Herah wrote” So honoured to be recognized by my very own. Another reason to be motivated to keep the fire that burns within me. I thank everyone that supported me in that unbelievable 2021 season. Continue to help me to keep that flame and I will definitely continue to make it spark♥️.
“National Sportswoman of the year 2021”

Parchment won for his unexpected gold medal in the 110-metres hurdles at the Olympics.

Parchment wrote on social media: “Remember that your only limitation is the one that you set up in your own mind.
N. Hill … “Thanks again to everyone for your continuous support 🙏🏾 “National Sportsman of the year 2021”

The runners-up for the two major titles were sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and high hurdler Ronald Levy.

Other major awards presented were the Chairman’s Award to veteran journalist Lance Whittaker; the People’s Choice “Performance of the Year Award” to Fraser McConnell; the VM Group Y.O.U.T.H Award to sprinter Tina Clayton and the Gleaner Newspaper Iconic Award to Michael Holding.

Also presented on the night were the Inter-Secondary School Sports Association Awards (ISSA) to Javier Brown of Jamaica College and Tina Clayton of Edwin Allen High.

Women’s 4x100m Relay:
Elaine Thompson-Herah
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Shericka Jackson
Briana Williams
Natasha Morrison
Remona Burchell

Women’s 4x400m Relay:
Jeneive Russell
Candice McLeod
Shericka Jackson
Roneisha McGregor
Stacey Ann Williams
Junelle Bromfield

Shericka Jackson 100m Women -Bronze Medal
Megan Tapper 100mH Women – Bronze Medal
Ronald Levy 110mH Men – Bronze Medal
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce 100m Women – Silver Medal
Elaine Thompson-Herah 100m Women – Gold Medal
Elaine Thompson-Herah 200m Women – Gold Medal

World Athletics U20 Championships
Tina Clayton – Girls 100m Gold
Ackera Nugent – Girls 100m Hurdles Gold
Girls 4x100m Relay:
Tia Clayton
Tina Clayton
Serene Cole
Kerrica Hill

Previous articleKevona Davis is 2nd; 3 Caribbean Athletes Win
Next articleMegan Tapper vs. Danielle Williams in Germany
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here