Ojie Edoburun
Ojie Edoburun

Ojie Edoburun shocked rivals to claim men’s 100m title in 10.18secs to the British Championship.

Adam Gemili and Zharnel Hughes, both like the winner, were timed in 10.18secs.

Gemili and Hughes both ran 10.26 in the semi-finals. Edoburun ran 10.15 to win his semi-final heat.

“I burst into tears,” said Odoburun.
“I have had so many setbacks. I call it mental injuries. People might think: ‘What is a mental injury?’ Not just in athletics but in life, too.

In the women’s 100m final, Dina Asher-Smith blew away the field to win in 10.96, the fastest ever time at a British Championships.
Asha Philip finished second in 11.29, and Daryll Neita was third in 11.30.

Gemili topped the men’s 200m in 20.08, beating Hughes, 20.25 and Miguel Francis, 20.34. Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake finished fourth in 20.39 and Delano Williams, sixth in 20.72.

Jodie Williams won the women’s 200m in 23.06.

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here