KC at Gibson McCook Relays
KC at Gibson McCook Relays

Kingston College (KC) won two of the boys’ 4x200m finals Saturday’s (Feb 23) Gibson McCook Relays 2019 at the National Stadium.

The North Street-based school won classes two and three.

In Class 2, KC secured victory in 1:28.12 ahead of Wolmer’s 1:28.20 and Calabar 1:28.89

KC’s Class 3 team crossed the finish line in 1:36.36 ahead of St. Jago 1:40.39 and Wolmer’s 1:41.43.

St. Jago topped Class 1 in 1:25.39 ahead of Calabar 1:26.60 and Excelsior 1:26.76.

JC took Class 3 in 1:32.70 ahead of KC 1:33.18 and Excelsior 1:34.88

Sashieka Steele led Holmwood to victory in the girls’ open 4x200m, 1:34.19 to edge out Edwin Allen 1:34.59 and St. Jago 1:35.32.

GC Foster won the 1600m sprint medley in 3:22.28 ahead of Maximum Aerobic 3:24.29 and EXED 3:32.01

Meanwhile, Kemba Nelson, 11.71 and Andrew Fisher, 10.21, won the women’s and men’s 100m respectively.

Barbadian Sada Williams, representing UTech, won the women’s 400m open in 52.93 while Malik James-King, 47.49 topped the male event.

Previous articleFarquharson anchors Calabar to 4x800m record at Gibson McCook Relays
Next articleKC dominate Gibson McCook Relays
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here