Jubilee series
Rasheed Dwyer wins his heat of the men's 200m at Jamaica Trials 2017

KINGSTON — Rasheed Dwyer was the fastest qualifier in the men’s 200m heats in the morning session on Day 3 at the Jamaica National Championships on Saturday.

Dwyer, the 2015 Pan American Games silver medallist, clocked 20.85 seconds to easily win heat 1 and secured a place into tonight’s semi-final.

Following the Sprintec sprinter home were Daniel Jamieson (21.03) and Cameron blazers’ Martin Manley (21.35).

Qualifying second swiftest from the heats was Jahnoy Thompson of LSU who won the third section in a time of 20.88 seconds.

After false-starting in the 100m and was disqualified, Fabian Hewitt of Wiley College picked himself up to progress to the semis after taking second to Thompson in 21.18 in the third heat.

Andel Miller of Cameron blazers was also an automatic qualifier, running 21.21 for third place.

Nigel Ellis, the 2016 World Junior Championships bronze medal winner of Elite Performance advanced to the semi-final as well with a 20.89 seconds performance to claim the second heat in the third-fastest time of the morning.

Romario Williams of GC Foster College who was in the midst of the 100m semi-final false-start fracas last night, finished second to Ellis in 21.10, while 100m champion Tyquendo Tracey stayed on course to win the sprint double by booking his place in tonight’s semis with a fourth-place 21.86 secs effort.

Winning the fourth and final heat was LSU’s Renard Howell in 21.02 and he carried Oraine Palmer of Wiley College (21.11) and Sprintec’s Oshane Bailey (21.12) with him into the next round.

The semi-finals of the men’s 200m at the Jamaica National Championships are slated for Saturday night at 9:35 pm.


Event 62 Men 20+ 200 Meter Dash SENIOR
16 Advance: Top 3 Each Heat plus Next 4 Best Times
1 #319 Rasheed Dwyer Sprintec 20.85Q -0.1 1
2 #195 Jahnoy Thompson Louisiana St 20.88Q 0.5 3
3 #87 Nigel Ellis Elite Performance 20.89Q -0.3 2
4 #193 Renard Howell Louisiana St 21.02Q 2.3 4
5 #445 Daniel Jamieson Vykn Performance 21.03Q -0.1 1
6 #131 Romario Williams GC Foster College 21.10Q -0.3 2
7 #448 Oraine Palmer Wiley College 21.11Q 2.3 4
8 #447 Fabian Hewitt Wiley College 21.18Q 0.5 3
9 #318 Oshane Bailey Sprintec 21.12Q 2.3 4
10 #55 Andel Miller Cameron blazers 21.21Q 0.5 3
11 #53 Martin Manley Cameron blazers 21.35Q -0.1 1
12 #52 Paul Henry Cameron blazers 21.61Q -0.3 2
13 #12 Wayne McPHERSON Akan Track Club 21.65q -0.1 1
14 #290 Timmar Wilson Racers Track Club 21.70q 0.5 3
15 #246 Tyquendo Tracey Mvp 21.86q -0.3 2
16 #130 Okeem White GC Foster College 21.87q -0.3 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here