SAN JUAN – IAAF Athlete of the Year Ashton Eaton and World Pole vault champion Yarisley Silva have been named 2015 NACAC Athletes of the Year by the North Central American and Caribbean Athletics Association.

Eaton, who won the word decathlon title with world record points, was selected over Usain Bolt, Christian Taylor and Joe Kovacs.

Silva was chosen ahead of fellow nominees Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Denia Caballero and Tianna Bartoletta.

The junior athlete of the year awards went to World Youth 400m champion Christopher Taylor of Jamaica and Cuba´s Yulenmis Aguilar, who set a javelin world junior record of 63.86m at the Pan American Junior Championships in Edmonton.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here