Svein Arne Hansen congratulated Sebastian Coe following his election as President at the IAAF Congress in Beijing on Wednesday.

“I would like to congratulate my friend Sebastian on being elected as the President of the IAAF. I am looking forward to working closely with him over the coming years for the good of our sport,” said the European Athletics President. 

Lord Coe received 115 votes, with Sergey Bubka receiving 92 votes. 207 Member Federations cast their votes. Coe will take office on 31 August, after the end of the IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015. 

“I would also to like congratulate Sergey Bubka on his election as Vice President and Jose Maria Odriozola on his appointment as IAAF Treasurer," said Hansen. 

Alongside Coe (GBR), Bubka (UKR) and Odriozola (ESP), Bernard Amsalem (FRA), Sylvia Barlag (NED), Mikhail Butov (RUS), Antti Pihlakoski (FIN), and Anna Riccardi (ITA) were the European representatives elected to the IAAF Council.

“This has been a good day for European athletics,” said Hansen. “I am very pleased for all the European representatives elected to the IAAF Council. I call on them to work hard and cooperate with the members from the rest of the world for the good of our sport. There are a lot of urgent issues to address over the coming years, including the integrity of the sport, our competition programme and development. 

“I will invite all our European IAAF Council members to the European Athletics Convention in Lausanne in October, where our members can look forward to discussing with them how to best represent the interests of European athletics at the world level.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here