BEIJING, China – Caribbean athletes Michael Frater and Aliann Pompey failed in their attempts to secure positions on the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

Frater of Jamaica won a silver medal at the 2005 World Championships and gold at the 2003 Pan American Games, ended with 508 votes.

Pompey, who represented Guyana at the Summer Olympics on four separate occasions (2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012), got 203 votes.

The six newly elected representatives of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission are as follows (listed in alphabetical order): Valerie Adams, Mutaz Essa Barshim, Yelena Isinbayeva, Koji Murofushi, Christian Olsson and Andreas Thorkildsen, the IAAF announced on Sunday (30). 

All 1873 athletes accredited for IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 had the right to vote in the elections, for which there were 16 candidates and which took place during the championships between 23-29 August in the official team hotels.

The total number of votes cast was 1310, with valid votes being 1267. Ballots were rejected if more or less than six candidates were selected.

Full details of the voting can be found here.

To be eligible for nomination by their own IAAF Member Federation as a candidate for the IAAF Athlete’s Commission, athletes must have participated in at least one of the past two editions of the IAAF World Championships or in the most recent Olympic Games, or have been a competitor at this year’s IAAF World Championships.

The six will begin their mandate on 1 January 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here