Sha'Carri Richardson Outpaces Shericka Jackson to Claim Victory in Doha Diamond League Women's 100m Dash
Sha'Carri Richardson Outpaces Shericka Jackson to Claim Victory in Doha Diamond League Women's 100m Dash

American sprinter Sha’Carri Richardson emerged victorious in the opening Diamond League women’s 100m dash in Doha on Friday, beating Jamaican athlete Shericka Jackson.

Although Jackson and Dina Asher-Smith battled in the first half of the race, Richardson surged ahead in the closing stages and crossed the finish line in a new meeting record and world lead time of 10.76.

Jackson finished second with a time of 10.85, just shy of her previous world lead of 10.82 achieved in Kingston two weeks ago. Asher-Smith of Great Britain finished third with a time of 10.98, while Twanisha Terry took fourth place with a time of 11.07.

The Diamond League women’s 100m dash in Doha was a highly competitive event, featuring some of the world’s top sprinters. Fans can look forward to more exciting and intense races as the Diamond League series continues.

10.76🇺🇸Sha’Carri Richardson (WL, MR)
10.85🇯🇲Shericka Jackson
10.98🇬🇧Dina Asher-Smith (SB)
11.07🇺🇸Twanisha Terry
11.08🇳🇿Zoe Hobbs
11.18🇺🇸Teahna Daniels (SB)
11.19🇺🇸Melissa Jefferson
11.19🇺🇸Abby Steiner (SB)

Previous articleTwo Jamaicans in highly anticipated 150m race at Adidas Atlanta City Games
Next articleJamaican Olympian Sanjay Ayre Optimistic about Puma East Coast International Showcase in Maryland
Anthony Foster is a renowned Jamaican sports journalist, honored twice as the Jamaica sports journalist of the year (in 2004 and 2005). His journalistic achievements are globally recognized. Notably, he authored an award-winning article on Usain Bolt, the iconic 6-time Olympic champion, 11-time World champion, and record holder for the sprint double. This significant piece was published in the Jamaica Gleaner in 2004. Anthony's extensive coverage includes prestigious events such as the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008, London 2012, and Rio 2016. He has also provided coverage for seven (7) World Athletics Championships held between 2007 and 2022, alongside various other international sporting events. Noteworthy mentions comprise his coverage of the 2007 World Cup of cricket and his cherished experience reporting on the 2004 clash between his favorite football team, Argentina, and the USA.