NEW ORLEANS – The Arkansas women’s cross country team rounded out a perfect record at home this season with a first-place finish at the NCAA South Central Regional meet last Friday.

Sitting at No. 9 in the nation, head coach Lance Harter’s team has continued to establish its place among the country’s best. Arkansas’ impressive finish at the regional bout secured two NCAA awards for the program. Harter was named the NCAA Women’s South Central Coach of the Year and sophomore Devin Clark was named the NCAA Women’s South Central Runner of the Year by the USTFCCCA on Tuesday afternoon.

Currently in his 27th year as the head coach for the Arkansas women, Harter remains the winningest coach in Southeastern Conference history. Additionally, his cross-country title claim includes 20 NCAA regional championships.

Newcomer Abby Gray picked up the SEC Freshman of the Year award under Harter’s guidance, along with being selected for the All-SEC second team. She was joined on the list of conference honorees by teammates Valerie Reina, Therese Haiss, and Nikki Hiltz. Fellow freshman Taylor Werner and Carina Viljoen were also named to the SEC All-Freshman team, adding to Harter’s impressive coaching resume.

Already a conference silver medalist and SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Clark has finished amongst the top-8 on three separate outings this season, including two times as runner-up. Her impressive performances throughout the year has helped define her as the Razorbacks’ top runner.

Harter’s crew looks to put forth another solid effort Saturday, Nov. 19 at the NCAA Championship in Terre Haute, Indiana at 10:00 a.m. CT.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here