Long Jumper Chantel Malone and field events specialist Eldred Henry, 3-peated as the British Virgin Islands Sr. Female and Male Athletes of the Year, when the 2015 awards were presented by Sol on Tuesday evening at The Moorings’ Mariner Inn, during the BVI Athletics Association 7th Athletes Awards Gala.
After a fifth place finish in the Long Jump at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, Canada in late July, Malone earned a silver medal in her pet event at the 2nd North American, Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Championships in Costa Rica in early August, after cutting the sand with a personal best leap of 6.69m, to improve her own National Record. 
Malone, who also qualified for the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China over the summer, has won the AOY honor for four of the last five years and was the Jr. AOY in 2009 and 2010. She ended the 2015 season ranked #41 in the world. 
Henry, who repeated as National Jr. Colleges Athletics Association (NJCAA) Discus Throw champion competing for Central Arizona, added the Shot Put title to his portfolio as well, for his third Jr. Colleges All America honor. In the Shot, he had a heave of 20.00m, becoming the first athlete in the OECS to reach that plateau. He finished the season rank #60 on the globe in the event. He also was the Premier Dental Collegiate Athlete of the Year award.
Central Arizona freshman Trevia Gumbs, landed the Jr. Female Athlete of the Year for a second time after winning it in 2012. Gumbs established National Records in the Shot Put, (14.83m) Discus Throw (46.69m) and Hammer Throw (47.66m) and was second in the NJCAA Shot Put as a freshman. She also won Carifta Games silver in the Shot Put with the 14.83m effort.
400m Hurdler Kyron McMaster now a freshman at Central Arizona, repeated as Jr. Male Athlete of the Year. In just his second year of hurdling, he broke the 18-year old national standard when he clocked 50.16 seconds at the Pan Am Jr. Championships in Edmonton, Canada. 
Just 14, Beyonce DeFreitas earned Youth Female Athlete of the Year laurels. She was a Carifta Games 200m finalist and placed fifth with a personal best run of 24.50 seconds. 
After turning some attention from Basketball to track, Malaki Smith took the Youth Male Athlete of the Year award. He was a silver medalist in the CAC Age Group Championships 60m and a bronze in the Baseball Throw. 
Dag Samuels who has McMaster among his charges was the Coach of the Year.
Reuben Stoby and Rosmond Johnson, were the respective Male and Female Road Runners of the Year.
As it marked it’s 45th anniversary, the BVI Athletics Association doled out its 2015 Lifetime Awards to Ambrozine Wilson, Rita Francis and Eucilita Tom. The trio were volunteers who fund raised for the association in the early 1970s.  
Athletes breaking and establishing National Records that stood at season’s end received awards presented by Sol for their accomplishments. Eight athletes established 13 marks during the indoor and outdoor season. Sr. Male Athlete of The Year Eldred Henry and Jr. Female Athlete of The Year Trevia Gumbs each set three marks.  
Athletes of the Year presented by Sol
2015 BVI Athletics Association Youth Female Athlete of the Year—Beyonce DeFreitas, 
2015 BVI Athletics Association Youth Male Athlete of the Year—Malaki Smith
2015 BVI Athletics Association Jr. Male Athlete of the Year –Kryon McMaster
2015 BVI Athletics Association Jr. Female Athlete of the Year—Trevia Gumbs 
2015 BVI Athletics Association Sr. Male Athlete of the Year—Eldred Henry 
2015 BVI Athletics Association Sr. Female Athlete of the Year—Chantel Malone
Most Outstanding Athletes Awards by Divisions
2015 Most Outstanding Combined Track Events Female Athlete—Ashley Kelly
2015 Most Outstanding Combined Field Events Female Athlete—Trevia Gumbs 
2015 Most Outstanding Combined Events Male Athlete—Eldred Henry
2015 Most Outstanding Men’s Open Track Athlete—Khari Herbert
2015 Most Outstanding Women’s Open Track Athlete—Tahesia Harrigan-Scott 
2015 Most Outstanding Men’s Open Field Athlete—Eldred Henry
2015 Most Outstanding Women’s Open Field Athlete—Chantel Malone
2014 Most Outstanding Boys Under-20 Track Athlete—Kyron McMaster
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-20 Track Athlete—Deya Erickson
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-20 Field Athlete—Akeem Bradshaw
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-20 Field Athlete—Trevia Gumbs
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-18 Track Athlete—K’Cei Moses
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-18 Track Athlete—L’T’Sha Fahie
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-18 Field Athlete—D’Jimon Gumbs
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-18 Field Athlete—Kala Penn
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-15 Track Athlete—Chaz Fahie 
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-15 Track Athlete—Beyonce DeFreitas
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-15 Field Athlete—Ajaalee Malone
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-15 Field Athlete—Xiomara Malone
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under 13 Field Athlete—Malakai Smith 
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under 13 Field Athlete— Ariyah Smith
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-13 Track Athlete—Malakai Smith
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-13 Track Athlete—Alisha Hayde
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under-11 Track Athlete—M’Kori Crabbe
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under-11 Track Athlete—Akeela McMaster
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under 11 Field Athlete—T’Khoy Stevens 
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under 11 Field Athlete—A’Keela McMaster
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under 9 Field Athlete—Asia McMaster 
2015 Most Outstanding Girls Under 9 Track Athlete—Shannia Johnson & Asia McMaster
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under 9 Field Athlete—Sean Samuel
2015 Most Outstanding Boys Under 9 Track Athlete—Kori Penn
2015 Premier Dental Collegiate Athlete of the Year Award—Eldred Henry
2015 College Classic Series Overall Male Champion Reuben Stoby 
2015 College Classic Series Overall Female Champion Rosmond Johnson 
2015 Most Improved Female Athlete—L’T’Sha Fahie, 100m 
2015 Most Improved Male Athlete—K’Cei Moses, 100/200m
2015 BVI Athletics Association Male Road Racing Athlete of the Year—Reuben Stoby
2015 BVI Athletics Association Female Road Racing Athlete of the Year—Rosmond Johnson
2015 BVI Athletics Association Coach of the Year-Dag Samuels
2015 Colonial Insurance Track and Field Comeback Athlete of the Year—Tarika Moses 
2015 BVI Athletics Association Coach of Year—Dag Samuels


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here