Share the News: Tap to Share

By Clayton Clarke, writer 

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad – Olympic men’s javelin champion Keshorn Walcott  and World men’s 400m hurdles gold medalist Jehue Gordon have been named in T&T’s 44 member athletic contingent for the 20th Commonwealth Games set for Glasgow, Scotland from July 23 to August 23.  

Walcott shocked the world with his historic win at the 2012 London Olympic Games when he won the men’s javelin title. As a19 year old Walcott won T&T’s second Olympic gold medal and will be looking to add the Commonwealth title to his collection.  

The 2012 World Junior champion will be aiming to rebound from his injury plague 2013 season where he failed to advanced to the finals at the Moscow World Outdoor Championships. Gordon (J) will be aiming to add Commonwealth success after he took the world title at the 2013 Moscow World Outdoor Track and Field Championships. 

World leading sprinters Richard Thompson and Michelle Lee Ahye have also been named in a release by the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee on Friday June 27. 

The  sprint duo sped the fastest 100m times in the world for 2014 on Saturday (June 21) at the National Championships/Commonwealth Games Trials at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. Thompson won his fifth national 100m crown in a new national record time of 9.82, lowering  the previous mark of 9.85 which he set in winning his third crown in 2011. Ahye ran away with her first national women's 100m crown with a clocking of 10.88 after stopping the clock at a world leading 10.85 in the semifinals. 

The 44 member track and field members are part of the 128 contingent which will represent T&T in Scotland. 


100m-Michelle-Lee Ahye(Rebirth), Kai Selvon (Airbon Sonics), Kamaria Durant (Simplex)

200m-Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas (Neon Trackers)

400m-Shawna Fermin (Memphis Pioneers), Romona Modeste (Neon Trackers), Domonique Williams (Neon Trackers)

800m-Aleena Brooks (Memphis Pioneers)

1500m-Pilar Mc Shine (Success and Excellence)

100m Hurdles-Josanne Lucas (Tobago Falcons), Deborah John (Airbon Sonics)

400m Hurdles-Janeil Bellille (Neon Trackers)

Shot put-Cleopatra Borel (Rebirth), Annie Alexander (Burnley)

Discus-Annie Alexander

High Jump-Deandra Daniel (Dovers)

Triple Jump-Ayana Alexander (Unattached)

4x100m-Lee Ahye, Selvon, Durant, Thomas, John, Lisa Wickham (Concorde)

4x400m-Fermin, Modeste, Williams, Brooks, Bellille, Lucas



100m-Richard Thompson (Rebirth), Keston Bledman (Simplex), Darrel Brown (Rebirth)

200m-Rondel Sorillo (La Brea), Kyle Greaux (Abilene Wildcats), Jereem Richards (Abilene Wildcats)

400m-Renny Quow (Zenith), Lalonde Gordon (Nike), Jarrin Solomon (Memphis Pioneers)

800m-Jamaal James (Rebirth), Kendis Bullard (TT Defence Force)

110m Hurdles-Wayne Davis 11 (Unattached), Mikel Thomas (Rebirth), Durel Busby (Tobago Jaguars)

400m Hurdles-Jehue Gordon (Memphis Pioneers), Emanuel Mayers (Rebirth)

Shot Put-Robert Collingwood (QRC)

Discus-Quincy Wilson (Rebirth)

Javelin-Keshorn Walcott (Rebirth)

High Jump-Kashief Daniel (Zenith)

Long Jump-Kyron Blaise (Rebirth)

4x100m-Thompson, Bledman, Brown, Sorillo, Marc Burns (Rebirth), Emmanuel Callender (Memphis Pioneers)

4x400m-L Gordon, Quow, Solomon,  Richards, Deon Lendore (Abilene Wildcats), Zwede Hewitt (Rebirth)


Manager-George Commissiong

Coaches-Lester Osuna, Arlon Morrison, Gunness Persad, Gerard Franklyn, Ishmael Lopez-Mastrapa, Michelle Pennie, Robin Brereton, Paul Voision


Dr. Verne Alleyne, Dr. Anyl Gopeesingh, Ian Sharpe, Brent Elder 

Share the News: Tap to Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here