A quintet of athletes has been added to the Australian Flame team for the IAAF World Race Walking Cup, with Athletics Australia Selectors confirming theirselection today.

Set to compete in the men’s and women’s 20km walk respectively, the addition of Dane Bird-Smith (Qld), Rhydian Cowley (Vic), Adam Rutter (NSW), Kelly Ruddick (Vic) and Tanya Holliday (SA) follows the Oceania and Australian 20km Race Walking Championships in Hobart (Tas) last weekend.

“On behalf of the Selectors, I congratulate the five athletes we have added to the Australian team today,” Dion Russell, the Athletics Australia Chairman of Selectors, said.

“Dane, Rhydian and Kelly were automatic selections following their performances in the Selection Trial in Hobart. All three stopped the clock below the required qualification standard and were placed within the top-two eligible athletes for consideration. Adam and Tanya have been added to the team as discretionary selections."

Today’s confirmation of a further five athletes brings the Australian team to eight, with IAAF World Championships bronze medallist Jared Tallent (Vic),dual Olympian Chris Erickson (Vic) and national champion Kim Mottrom (Vic) selected to compete in the men’s 50km walk in December.

Athletics Australia Selectors will meet once again in the week following the Australian Junior Athletics Championships to determine whether any junior athletes will be selected to compete in the available boy’s and girl’s 10km walk races.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here