Dina Asher Smith
Dina Asher Smith

World 200m champion Dina Asher-Smith will headline Great Britain & Northern Ireland’s sixty-five (65) member-team for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games (24 July – 8 August).

Asher-Smith has been nominated for the women’s 100m, 200m and 4x100m as she goes for a tilt at a trio of medals in Tokyo. Asher-Smith, like Jamaicans Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Elaine Thompson-Herah and Shericka Jackson, are the front runners for 100m medals in Tokyo.
Bahamian Shaunae Miller-Uibo and American Gabby Thomas will join all four for a massive showdown in the 200m.

Sha’Carri Richardson, who was expected to feature heavily in the sprints, is serving a one-month ban for a positive test at the US Olympic Trials.

Great Britain & Northern Ireland’s team, announced recently, will also include seven athletes selected following the marathon and 20km race walk trial in April.

Fellow world champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson has been named in the heptathlon for what will be her third Olympics, subject to demonstrating fitness ahead of Tokyo.

British team for Tokyo

100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip
200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin
400m: Ama Pipi, Jodie Williams, Nicole Yeargin
800m: Keely Hodgkinson, Laura Muir, Jemma Reekie
1500m: Laura Muir, Katie Snowden, Revee Walcott-Nolan
5000m: Jess Judd, Amy-Eloise Markovc, Eilish McColgan
10,000m: Jess Judd, Eilish McColgan
Marathon: Stephanie Davis, Jessica Piasecki, Steph Twell
3000m steeplechase: Elizabeth Bird, Aimee Pratt
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter, Cindy Sember
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Jessie Knight, Jessica Turner
High jump: Emily Borthwick, Morgan Lake
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen
Shot put: Sophie McKinna
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson (subject to fitness)
4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Jessie Knight, Laviai Nielsen, Ama Pipi, Jessica Turner, Hannah Williams, Jodie Williams, Nicole Yeargin

100m: Zharnel Hughes, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah
200m: Adam Gemili, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake
800m: Oliver Dustin, Elliot Giles, Daniel Rowden
1500m: Jake Heyward, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman
5000m: Andrew Butchart, Marc Scott
10,000m: Sam Atkin, Marc Scott
Marathon: Ben Connor, Callum Hawkins, Chris Thompson
20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson
3000m steeplechase: Phil Norman, Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: David King, Andrew Pozzi
High jump: Tom Gale
Pole vault: Harry Coppell
Triple jump: Ben Williams
Shot put: Scott Lincoln
Discus: Lawrence Okoye
Hammer: Taylor Campbell, Nick Miller

4x100m: Jona Efoloko, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah
4x400m: Niclas Baker, Cameron Chalmers, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Michael Ohioze, Lee Thompson



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here