Allyson Felix for Golden Spike Ostrava
Allyson Felix

Team Europe and Team USA have announced their squads for the historic head-to-head duel, The Match, set for Minsk in Belarus on 9-10 September.

European stars include 2017 world champions Pawel Fajdek, Ramil Guliyev, Johannes Vetter, Mariya Lasitskene, Sandra Perkovic and Ekaterini Stefanidi and 2018 European champions on Team Europe include Armand Duplantis.

Paulina Guba, Michal Haratyk, Elvira Herman, Wojciech Nowicki, Paraskevi Papahristou, Thomas Rohler, Lea Sprunger, Justyna Swiety-Ersetic and Miltiadis Tentoglou are also down to compete for Team Europe.

The notable names for Team American are reigning Olympic champions Michelle Carter and Brianna McNeal as well as multiple global title winners Allyson Felix and Brittney Reese.

Felix will be contesting the 400m in Minsk, the distance over which she was crowned world champion in 2015.

The American men’s team has a host of recently minted US champions who will be on their way to the forthcoming IAAF World Championships in Doha.

They include Craig Engels, Hillary Bor, Jeron Robinson, Sam Mattis and Conor McCulloch.

“I am confident that The Match will become a regular fixture on the international athletics calendar, but I want people to always remember the spectacle that was the first edition,” European Athletics President Svein Arne Hansen said.

We want to hear from you!  Join our lively discussion by leaving a comment below. You can also email us at [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here