Finalists Announced For Male World Athlete Of The Year 2018
Finalists Announced For Male World Athlete Of The Year 2018

With just 14 days to go until the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018, the IAAF is delighted to reveal the names of the five finalists for the 2018 IAAF Male Athlete of the Year award.

The five athletes, who represent five countries from four Area associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2018.

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Christian Coleman (USA)
– World indoor record and world indoor champion at 60m
– World lead and IAAF Diamond League champion at 100m

Armand Duplantis (SWE)
– European champion at pole vault with a world-leading height
– World U20 champion
– Eight world U20 records or bests, indoors and out

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
– London Marathon champion
– Berlin Marathon champion with the biggest improvement on a men’s marathon world record since 1967

Kevin Mayer (FRA)
– World indoor champion at heptathlon
– World record at decathlon

Abderrahman Samba (QAT)
– World lead and unbeaten in nine finals at 400m hurdles, setting the world’s quickest time since 1992
– Asian Games champion at 400m hurdles and 4x400m
– IAAF Continental Cup winner
– Asian indoor 4x400m champion

Voting procedure for 2018 World Athletes of the Year

A three-way voting process determined the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family cast their votes by email, while fans voted online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. The IAAF Council’s vote counted for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25% of the final result. Voting closed on 13 November.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 on 4 December in Monaco.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here