Share the News: Tap to Share

Five track and field athletes have been nominated for the 2016 RJR Sports Foundation National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards.

Usain Bolt and Elaine Thompson ahead of list of three men and five women respectively.

Bolt, who won the sprint double at August’s Rio 2016 Olympic Games, had earlier won the IAAF World Athlete of the Year.

Bolt also helped Jamaica to gold in the men’s 4x100m relay.

The other track and field athletes are Omar McLeod, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Shericka Jackson.

McLeod, in his first full professional season, won the World Indoor 60m hurdles and 110m sprint hurdles at the Olympic Games.

Thompson, who became the first Caribbean woman to win the sprint double at the Olympic Games, was considered to be amongst the top three best female in the world this year.

She also helped Jamaica to silver in the 4x100m relay.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who was also a member of the relay team, won bronze in the women’s 100m.

Shericka Jackson, who was a bronze medal winner in Rio, is also nominated for the top Jamaican sports award.


(Sportsman of the Year)
Usain Bolt
Marlon Samuels
Omar McLeod

(Sportswoman of the Year)
Stafanie Taylor
Elaine Thompson
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Alia Atkinson
Shericka Jackson

Share the News: Tap to Share


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here