New Providence will begin their title defence at the 35th INSPORTS/Seprod Primary Schools Athletics Championship which get underway April 29, 2015 at the National Stadium.

Start time is 9:00 am each day.

The four-day championship, which ends on Saturday, May 2, 2015, will have 93 participating teams from several parishes, with 4,425 athletes down to compete in 38 events.

Forty-one finals are up for grabs over the duration, including the overall champion boy and girl to be awarded scholarships courtesy of title sponsor Seprod.

The traditional opening ceremony is scheduled for Friday, May 1, 2015, starting 2:00 pm.

Meanwhile, only one final will be contested on the opening day, which is the girls cricket ball throw Open.

Last year, New Providence from St. Andrew claimed their first hold on the prestigious silverware with a combined score of 222 points, followed by dethroned four-time champions Naggo Head from Portmore, St. Catherine (182.75) and, Greater Portmore with 139 points.

Terron Brown, coach of New Providence said the team is very confident of retaining championship honours.

“My athletes have raced against other primary schools in development meets to see how far they are and if they are well prepared, while other schools have not raced in those meets, so you cannot take any chances, as you have not seen them,” Brown said.

Brown also said his athletes will do very well in all classes apart from Class 2 boys who he thinks is not as strong, but remain confident of retaining their title.  

“I think the school to be my dangerous challenger is Greater Portmore as they are looking very good but we should hold them off,” the New Providence coach said.

Other participating Primary Schools are: Harbour View, Woodford Park, St. Martin de Porres, Rock Hall, Padmore, Duhaney Park, Manning’s Hill, George Headley, Pembroke Hall, St. Francis, Red Hills, Golden Spring, Excelsior, St. Richard’s, St. Benedict’s, Mona Heights, Mountain View, Grove, St. Jude’s, New Garden, Lawrence Tavern, Half-Way-Tree, Hope Valley, Padmore and Dupont (St. Andrew).

St. Michael’s, Rousseau, Rollington Town, Tarrant, St. Anne’s, Balmagie, St. Patrick’s, Denham Town, Jessie Ripoll, North Street, Holy Rosary, Clan Carthy, Maxfield, Balcombe Drive, Iris Gelly, Elletson, Alpha, and Holy Family (Kingston).

Bridgeport, St. John’s, Waterford, Jericho, Horizon Park, Tredegar Park, Polly Ground, St. Catherine, McAuley, Port Henderson, Southborough, Ewarton, Kensington, Friendship, Angel’s, York Street, Davis, Portsmouth, Sargeant Ville, Sligoville, Belmont Park, Spanish Town, Gregory Park, King Weston, Bermaddy and Independence City.

Bybrook,  (Portland), Hillside, Hampstead (St. Mary), Rock River, Frankfield, Mineral Heights (Clarendon),  Easington, Grants Pen, Port Morant, Lyssons, Seaforth, Yallahs, White Horses, Morant Bay (St. Thomas), Catherine Hall, Howard Cooke (St. James), Black River (St. Elizabeth).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here