Australian athletics has a rich history of success dating back over 100 years. 

In celebration of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games, the Athletics Australia Hall of Fame was established to recognise the outstanding achievements of Australia's truly great athletes across the course of this history and since then more than 35 people have been added to the illustrious list.

Formally inducted as part of Athlete of the Year Awards last night were Louise Sauvage and Jennifer Lamy, with Darren Clark and Lisa Ondieki also to be included on the honour roll for 2014. The quartet join the likes of Catherine Freeman, Betty Cuthbert and Ron Clarke on the illustrious list.

The Special Awards Committee has prepared citations to celebrate the inductions, with these detailed in part below.

On behalf of Athletics Australia, we congratulate today’s inductees on their induction to the Athletics Australia Hall of Fame.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here