By Clayton Clarke, writer 

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad – Six-time Carifta champion Machel Cedenio (Simplex) has been included among 49 athletes named to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the 20th Central American and Caribbean Junior Track and Field Championships set for Morelia, Mexico from July 4-6. 

In a release issued by the National Association of Athletic Administration (NAAA), on June 11, 49 athletes and 14 officials have been selected.

Cedenio, in April, completed back to back boys’ under-20 400m titles at the Carifta Games. He is also won the boys’ under 18 title at the 2012 CAC Juniors in San Salvador, El Salvador.

The 18-year-old Cedenio is the fastest junior in the world this year with 45.23 (national junior record), done to win the men’s 400m at the Cayman Invitational on May 7.  He was also a member of T&T’s 4x400m bronze-medal winning team at the inaugural IAAF World Relays in the Bahamas last month.

Machel%20CedenioTrinidad and Tobago won 23 medals (8 gold, 6 silver, 9 bronze) at the 2012 edition of the meet. 

Full team


Under 17 – 100m-Jenea Spinks (Neon Trackers); 200m-Spinks; 110m hurdles-Jeminise Parris (Memphis Pioneers); shot put-Chelsea James (Tobago Falcons), Akidah Briggs (Zenith); discus-C. James, Shaiann Charles (D’Abadie Progressive); javelin-Briggs, Asha James (Zenith); heptathlon-Ayanna Glasgow (Toco TAFAC), Anya Akili (Zenith), Khemani Roberts (Zenith)

Under 20 – 100m-Zakiya Denoon (Zenith), Aaliyah Telesford (Pt. Fortin New Jets); 200m-Denoon, Kayelle Clarke (Petrotrin Pt.-a-Pierre); 100m hurdles-Akila McShine (Cougars), shot put-Portious Warren (Toco TAFAC); javelin-Chuntal Mohan-Pt. Fortin New Jets; 4x100m-Denoon, Telesford, Clarke, Mc Shine, Mauricia Prieto (Pt. Fortin New Jets), Trishelle Leacock (Zenith)


Under 17 – 100m-Akanni Hislop (Zenith), Corey Stewart (Abilene Wildcats); 200m-Hislop, Jacob St. Clair (Abilene Wildcats); 400m-St. Clair, Kashief King (Pt. Fortin New Jets); 800m-Terry Frederick (Pt. Fortin New Jets),  Myles Jackson (Memphis Pioneers); 110m hurdles-Kobe John (Memphis Pioneers), Xavier Mulgata (Memphis Pioneers); 400m hurdles-John, Dwight St. Hillaire (Zenith); high jump-Omari Benoit (Tobago Falcons); long jump-Andwuelle Wright (Rebirth); javelin-Tyriq Horsford (Zenith), Vandel Joseph (Zenith); Decathlon-Ian West (Pt. Fortin New Jets); 4x100m-Hislop, Stewart, Mulgata, John, St. Clair, Wright (ZC); 4x400m-King, St. Clair, Frederick, St. Hillaire, John, Jackson

Under 20 – 100m-John – Jonathan Farinha (Abilene Wildcats), Mark Constantine (Concorde); 200m-Farinha, Holland Cabara (Abilene Widlcats); 400m-Machel Cedenio (Simplex), Theon Lewis (Petrotrin Pt.-a-Pierre); 800m-Nicholas Landeau (Air Bon Sonics), Ashton Gill (Cougars); 1500m-Landeau, Gill; 110m hurdles-Aaron Lewis (Zenith),Reubin Waltes (Memphis Pioneers); 400m hurdles-Lewis; long jump-Kevin Roberts (Unattached); shot put-Kenejah Williams (Tobago Falcons); discus-Williams, javelin-Shakeel Waithe (Rebirth); Decathlon-Roberts, Victor Isaac (Toco TAFAC); 4x100m-Farinha, Constantine, Cabara, Lewis, Walters, Micah Ballantyne (Alpha); 4x400m-Cedenio, Lewis, Walters, Ohdel James (Abilene Wildcats), Asa Guevara (Asa Guevera).


Manager-Dawn Washington; Head coach- Reynold Porter-Lee, Coaches-(sprints)-Kenny Bermudez, Kelvin Nancoo; (hurdles)-Arlon Morrison; (middle distance)-Paul Voisin; (throws)-Kerron Brown, Joyce Thomas; (jumps)-Michelle Pennie, Wendell Williams); Massage therapists-Shurland Bonas, Brent Elder, Kern DeFreitas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here