The IAAF Ethics Commission has today announced on their website the appointment of Justice Catherine O’Regan and Annabel Pennefather.

Their appointment was approved by the IAAF President and the IAAF Council on 14 December 2015.

Justice Catherine O’Regan is a former judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa and has served since 2010 as an ad hoc judge of the Supreme Court of Namibia. Between 2008 and 2012 she was the Chairperson of the United Nations Internal Justice Council and between 2012 and 2014 she was the Chairperson of the Commission of Inquiry into allegations of inefficiency in the South African Police Service in Khayelitsha, Western Cape, South Africa. She is also a member of the Board of Corruption Watch, South Africa.

Annabel Pennefather is a distinguished Singaporean lawyer with substantial experience in sports law and governance. She is currently a Vice President of the Singapore National Olympic Council, Deputy President of the International Hockey Federation’s Judicial Commission and a Member of the Olympic Council of Asia’s Sports for All Committee. She has served as Chef de Mission for Singapore’s contingents at a number of major multi-sport Games such as the Manchester Commonwealth Games in 2002, the Athens Olympic Games in 2004, the Doha Asian Games in 2006, the New Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010 and the Myanmar SEA Games in 2013.

These appointments bring the total number of Ethics Commission members to nine. A full list of the current members of the Ethics Commission can be found on its website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here